Automation pHAT information

Hi I’m new to the PI .I want to use ADC input to turn on the relay. Where do I find the coding for the Automation pHAT?

the repository can be found here: https://github.com/pimoroni/automation-hat

to achieve what you want you’d need to read an analog input like so:

value = automationhat.analog.one.read()

then use it in a conditional to turn the relay on:

automationhat.relay.one.on()

… that is broadly speaking the approach, the exact code you need to run will depend on your needs. Check the library doc for more options.

Hi thanks for the info. As I said I am very new to Pi. I have looked at the three examples in the GitHub is this the library doc you were referring to? I will be ok writing my code I just require the commands.

There is an API reference available in the ‘documentation’ directory. Most methods should be documented there.

… used alongside the examples they should give you a fair understanding of the library, but feel free to ask here if you get stuck.

Super thanks got the info now and prepared to start coding.

Hi I have started testing the automation phat but have hit a problem reading the ADC .i have connected ADC One input to 5v when I run the code using
Value=automationhat.analog.one.read()
Print Value
I get
Automation pHAT detected…
I assume this value should (if 10 bit ADC)be between 0 and 1023. Or am I missing something. I get the same result on the other two ADC inputs. I have checked with a DMM that there is 5v on the terminal.
The input, output and relay circuits are working ok. Also what current can the output circuits sink?
Thanks

I believe it is a 12 bit Adc and the value back is a voltage. If you look at my topics I have created there is one about changing the value from an enviro phat from a voltage to a number between 0-1023 an a lot of it is cross compatible over to automation phat.

The topic is called getting a number from ads1015