Explorer Hat pro flickering light when I turn it on using Flask endpoint

Hi, I am new to Python, Flask and Explorer Hat. I am having trouble when running simple program of controlling Explorer Hat using web requests.

@app.route("/on/")
def turnon(light = ‘None’):
if light == ‘yellow’:
resp = make_response(light + ’ is on’)
eh.light.yellow.on()
return resp

This light is not flickering when I do eh.light.yellow.on() in python shell

Any chance you could bung the whole lot of code here, so that we can have a look? You can format code in forums posts by wrapping it in triple backticks.

The whole code posted below:

from flask import Flask
from flask import make_response
import explorerhat as eh

app = Flask(__name__)

@app.route("/")
@app.route("/on/<light>")
def turnon(light = 'None'):
        if light == 'yellow':
                eh.light.yellow.on()
        return make_response(light + ' is on')
@app.route("/off/<light>")
def turnoff(light = 'None'):
        if light == 'yellow':
                eh.light.yellow.off()
        return light + ' is off'

if __name__ == "__main__":
        app.run(host='0.0.0.0', port=80, debug = True)

Thanks.

Short answer: It’s appears to be a bug in RPi.GPIO

There’s quite a lot at play with this apparently simple problem, but the crux of it is that Flask is fighting Explorer HAT for system resources, and you’re seeing the result of that fight manifest itself as flicker.

I’ll try and explain why this happens- it dates back to an issue with the Explorer HAT library crashing randomly which used to happen when it attempted to switch an output pin from PWM to regular ON/OFF too quickly, or at the wrong time.

This was fixed some time ago by treating ON/OFF states as just another level of PWM- ON being 100% duty cycle, and OFF being 0% duty cycle.