No power to Picade screen - PLEASE HELP!

Hi all, this is my first thread on here since joining and I’m a bit of a noob to Pi and Picade!

I spent yesterday setting up my new Picade cabinet (thoroughly enjoyed it too!) however when it came to the good bit of switching it all on, I found out my 8" screen does not seem to receive any power at all.

I’ve triple checked my wiring and it’s all as per the instructions, but still nothing. I’ve been on this message board for the last day trying all of the suggestions (hdmi_force_hotplug=1 and the other command line to allow more amps to pass through USB to name a couple) and none of them have solved my problem.

I know people have reported blue/white screens but mine has not even switched on yet. Two main things I’ve noticed which seem different to the other posts on here:

1. The button board that attaches to the screen never lights up. I know the little light at the bottom can light green or red, but I have neither upon power-up.
  2. The light on the Picade board only lights up when I’ve disconnected the screen from the Pi. As soon as the screen is reconnected in any way, the light on the Picade board goes straight back off again.

I’m using the recommended official Raspberry Pi power supply, and running everything on a Pi3 if that’s of any use.

Please, please help! I’m desperate to play the old Turtles arcade game!! :-)

It sounds like the screen isn’t recognizing the input from the Pi and is going to sleep. On my 8" Picade screen, I had to press one of the buttons (can’t remember which one) on the screen button board to get it to switch/recognize the input.

-Brent

Thanks for answering back.

I’ve had some contact back from Pimoroni who have suggested playing with the ribbon cable a bit, so I’ll try that as well as your suggestion too. Would that still work even though the power indicator light on the button board hasn’t been coming on?

Thanks again.

Is your volume cranked up to maximum?