Set_all() is missing from the UnicornHAT

I’m playing with the UnicornHAT on a Pi 2, after having installed the software via the full install command, and I’ve found the set_all() method doesn’t exist.

I checked the source on GitHub, and it’s there, but checking the same file on my Pi, and it’s missing.

Most of the other functions work, and I’m able to get the same effect using the following code, but I doubt this is very efficient:

width, height = unicorn.get_shape()
for y in range(height):
    for x in range(width):
        unicorn.set_pixel(x, y, rgb['red'], rgb['green'], rgb['blue'])
unicorn.show()

This leads me to think I’ve maybe done something wrong, or the version installed via pip is old. I tried updating the package manually, but that didn’t work either.

I’m pretty new to python, so it’s totally possible that I’m doing something wrong, but I don’t know what.

Download the pimoroni dashboard (sudo apt-get pimoroni)

When installed launch the application through the start menu under the start menu

Select my product is a hat and then unicorn hat

If the problem still isn’t fixed try the update all pi fairies option you see when you launch the pimoroni dashboard

I’m running the pi headless, so I’m not going to be able to run this dashboard you mention.

OK, so I’ve found that you can run the dashboard from the command line via pimoroni-dashboard, so I installed it, run the command, and after exploring the various options (both choosing to install the UnicornHAT, and also checking for updates to the installed libraries), discovered that it’s not doing anything that I’ve not already tried manually.

I think the issue is the version of the library available on pip is out of date.

Unicorn HAT - set_all method not working gives an alternative. @gadgetoid might be able to confirm if the pip version was ever updated.

Gordon