Stacking Explorer Phat with Blinkt

Hi Pirates,

I’m currently building a couple of Tiny 4WD rovers for my upcoming Pi Jam. So far it’s all working great, I have a Zero W with an Explorer pHat and Lipo Shim snuggled together on an extended header and for fun, I want to stack a Blinkt on top, so the two bots can have colour coded Larson Scanners running.

Physically, they all fit, but looking at pinout.xyz both Explorer Phat and Blinkt use BCM 23 and 24. which I think is making them incompatible (certainly, Blinkt examples aren’t currently working). Is there any kind of way I can tell the Blinkt to use different pins or remove the conflict?

Python noob here, so please take it easy on me.

Thanks!

1 Like

Remapping the pins physically would be the tricky part. But the library is quite trivial to change, see: https://github.com/pimoroni/blinkt/blob/master/library/blinkt.py#L8-L9

Easy! Clone it from GitHub, change those lines, and sudo ./setup.py install. You could even try renaming the library so it doesn’t clash with an existing Blintk!. Or just find a generic APA-102 library to run it.

Thanks Phil, thats awesome!

Just to clarify… it can be done completely in software or is some kind of physical remapping still required?

You’d need some kind of physical remapping, since the pins shared are inputs on Explorer pHAT and thus connected to the output of the input buffer. It could be driving them into a state that wouldn’t be conductive for running Blinkt! even if you did remove those inputs from the Explorer pHAT library.

So, update the software (for example to BCM 17 & 27) then run a wire from 17 & 18 on the header to 23 and 24. I guess that would mean it would no longer be stackable but otherwise work right?

Seems doable, just need to find somewhere to put the blinkt :)

You could get creative and make the stacking header still work, but it would be… destructive!