BME680 sensor problem solved on this forum, but solution not visible for others?

Hi All,
I am relatively new with the Raspberrypi and new on this forum (as of today). I found the problem below on this forum (Bme 680 python script not working). It looks the same as my problem with the BME680 sensor. It looks like the problem was solved for the OP (Vadi), but the solution is not publicised, at least I can’t see it.
@ sandyjmacdonald Could you help me out here? Can you tell me the solution you gave Vadi, or tell me how I can see the answer Vadi was given? Thank you in advance.

[Vadi]

Mar 2

Hi there,

I am new to the forum and to the raspberry pi stuff and for my first tryout I bought a bme680 sensor.

So far I couldn’t get any readings from it, althoug I used to code from the github side. Now every time I try to run the python 3 code I get an error.

Estimate indoor air quality

Runs the sensor for a burn-in period, then uses a
combination of relative humidity and gas resistance
to estimate indoor air quality as a percentage.

Press Ctrl+C to exit

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/pi/bme680/examples/indoor-air-quality.py”, line 16, in
sensor = bme680.BME680()
File “build/bdist.linux-armv7l/egg/bme680/ init .py”, line 25, in init
self.chip_id = self._get_regs(CHIP_ID_ADDR, 1)
File “build/bdist.linux-armv7l/egg/bme680/ init .py”, line 285, in _get_regs
return self._i2c.read_byte_data(self.i2c_addr, register)
IOError: [Errno 121] Remote I/O error

I am not shure if it is from a wrong ic2 because I didn’t solder the pins like in the description which I thought would only be necessary if I use a second one.

I I try to run the second programm I get this error.

=============== RESTART: /home/pi/bme680/examples/read-all.py ===============

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/pi/bme680/examples/read-all.py”, line 6, in
sensor = bme680.BME680()
File “build/bdist.linux-armv7l/egg/bme680/ init .py”, line 25, in init