Display temperature in colours on unicorn pHat

Hello,

first I am new in programming and tried a few tutorials and played around a little bit.
I want to realize that my unicorn pHat shows the outside temperature in colours. When it’s cold outside the colour is blue when hot it’s red. I have another raspberry with a DS18B20 that logs the outside temperature.
I have a text file that contains the temperature (for example 3.19) I want to read this file and show a temperature in colours on the unicorn pHat (cold in blue, hot in red). After a hour or whatever it should check the file again.

But I have no idea how to do this. After trying a few beginner tutorials I know how to change the colour of the unicorn pHat (yeah ;)) but I do not find something how to read a file and change the colour in dependency to the temperature value.

Can someone give me a hint?

An idea for future doing is to show temperature in rows every row shows the temperature of previous hours.

Thanks & best regards

Marco

Hi there!
I haven’t got any experience with the Unicorn pHat; in fact, I don’t even own one, so I’m sorry if this is a pretty rough explanation, but I noticed your post was from a while back now and I’ve recently had experience with some string manipulation stuff in Python, so I wondered if I could be of any assistance.
Firstly, your way ahead of me, since I haven’t a clue how to change the colour of a Unicorn pHat, so that bit may be a bit more difficult for me to demonstrate, but I’ll try the psuedo-code bit first and it may give you a hint.
Have you managed to get the text file from your external temperature monitoring Pi to your Unicorn Pi? If so, great! This code should be good enough to get you going. If not; I’m afraid I’m not much help. I’ve heard of lots of wireless ways to transmit stuff between Pis, but I’ve had no experience so far.

Now, of course, presuming you want to use Python;