Circuits designed for Arduino working on Raspberry Pi (and vice versa)

I’m new to electronics, so I’m sorry if this is a silly question, but I’m having some trouble making a circuit built for an Arduino work on the Raspberry Pi.

The circuit in question is designed to power a small DC motor using a MOSFET, and is almost exactly the same as project 9 in the Arduino starter kit:

… except mine doesn’t use the button, but instead has the pin switch to HIGH for 5 seconds, then switch to LOW for the next 5 repetitively.

Anyway, this works fine, so I figured I should be able to substitute pin 2 on the Arduino for pin 37 on the Pi (and ground for ground) and it should carry on working as it did before when sending a HIGH signal to pin 37 (which I’m doing via Node-red) - except it doesn’t work.

I can put an LED between 37 and ground, and that lights up when I expect it to, so I’m not sure why it isn’t powering the motor.

Can someone help me out? Thank you.

The main difference between an Arduino and the Pi is that one operates at 5v and the other at 3v3… so the most likely is that your MOSFET gate voltage is not suitable.

That said I am not clear on how your project is wired to the Pi in details so the culprit may be elsewhere.

2 Likes

TBH, this sounds like the issue.

I’m a total noob with all of this, so while I can just about spell MOSFET, I have no idea what it is, or how it’s different to any other transistor. I’ve found a video on powering a motor using a Pi:

and I think I have the required components (the diagrams at least look the same, with the arrows inside the transistor pointing in the correct directions), so I’ll have a go at that.

Further to my previous messages, I’ve since built the circuit shown in that video, and it worked (the motor is powering the dinosaur):

Or rather, it starts off working, then stops.