Connecting RPi and Pico/RP2040

What are the options for connecting an RPi and an RP2040 board, with my code running on both? I have some Plasma 2040s and one idea I have is to change the lights based on music being played by the Pi. At a simple level, to set a sequence based on which track is being played (loud, fast music = bright lights), but even better would be if it could also alter throughout the piece, even if it’s not fast enough to flash on the beat. Speaking of which, I did consider some of the microphone breakouts for a standalone beat detection, but I don’t think any of them are compatible with MicroPython and I didn’t check CircuitPython so far.

I’m fine with programming (though not in C), but I’m not experienced in soldering so I’d prefer a solution that doesn’t involve soldering directly onto either board if possible. Connecting the two with a USB cable would be ideal, but I don’t know if the RP2040 ever communicates with via USB when it’s running code. And if I did that I guess all the power for the lights would need to come over the RPi’s USB port, so that’s not going to work. Could I rig something up via the QW/ST port? Or is there something to make connecting to the GPIO ports safer for someone who’s bad at soldering?

It should be theoretically possible to get the pico to run as a I2C slave, so you could connect via the QW/ST port, but I’ve not been able to find a good example to do it. But you could try here GitHub - vmilea/pico_i2c_slave: I2C slave library for the Raspberry Pi Pico

Also looking at the plasma photo, the pin holes don’t seem to line up well (see below), so a straight row of pins might be tricky