Enviro Phat need calibrating?

I’m charting the output from the motion sensor on the envirophat but have noticed the X & Y axis appear to be out somewhat (assuming the unit is not moving on the ground). See attached example chart. I would’ve assumed the X & Y would be nearly identical assuming no movement? I have modified the Z axis by -1 to compensate for earth’s gravity.

Could it just be noise, or at least tiny vibrations? They’re very tiny numbers on your y-axis.

Possibly, i’ve attached another PNG from tonight which shows them more ‘aligned’, perhaps accounting for daytime ‘noise’. As I understand it g-force in terms of numbers is minute.

Overall i’m please with it and what i’ve done - I have a graph that shows movements (because if I shake the thing around the graph goes ballistic) and relates the g-force readings from the device into a human readable scale (Mercalli Scale). All this in Python which i’ve never used before (damn those indentations) and hacking about some javascript which I can just about do.

Edit: I’m interested in finding out more about how to get / control readings from this sensor, but a bit confused at this stage by the HEX codes and ‘bits’ from the chip data sheet and the Pimoroni library

Oooh! I applaud you for being interested in how to work closer with the sensor. This might turn into a long topic!

You should familiarise yourself with the concept of bits/bytes etc first if you’ve never encountered low-level programming before, this isn’t a bad resource: Bits and Groups of Bits

Then we can explore how to interpret a datasheet (for a simple i2c device anyway) and break down the lsm303d datasheet into manageable chunks.

Hello! Going to reopen this thread, and I started a separate thread on filtering digital noise which is related to what I am trying to achieve with the accelerometer. I have the following ideas in mind, but lack the knowledge to integrate them: