Help needed with Python coding for taking photos with TouchPhat buttons

I have a TouchPhat and Noir camera attached to a PiZero w. I am attempting to take a still photo with the press of one button and a short video with another. The Python script I have attempted is below. I am getting a Syntax error on the ‘def my_function()’ line and I cannot fathom why.
Here is the full script. Excuse my ignorance as this is my first attempt at Python

import touchphat
import time
import picamera

camera = picamera.PiCamera()

while True:
    @touchphat.on_touch("A")
    def my_function()
        touchphat.led_on("A")
        camera.capture('image.jpg')
        touchphat.led_off("A")

@touchphat.on_touch("B")
    def my_functiona()
        touchphat.led_on("B")
        camera.start_recording('video.h264')
        sleep(10)
        camera.stop_recording()
        touchphat.led_off("B")
except KeyboardInterrupt():
    sys.exit()

Thanks in advance for any help on this

While it’s not the cause of the problem, you should bind your Touch functions outside of your while True: loop, like so:

@touchphat.on_touch("A")

while True:

The syntax error you’re seeing is due to missing colons from the end of the function declarations.

It should be def my_function(): rather than def my_function()

Ideally you should not actually do the recording in the touch function, but rather set some sort of global state you can later rely on. Something like:

record = False
@touchphat.on_touch("B")
def start_record():
    global record
    record = True

while True:
    if record:
        touchphat.led_on("B")
        camera.start_recording("video.h264")
        sleep(10)
        camera.stop_recording()
        touchphat.led_off("B")
        record = False

You could then extend this to track that you’re currently recording, and have the single touch button toggle the recording on/off.

Thank you so much. I will study your code and apply it.