Interfacing Plasma2040 to Sparkfun 14segment display

I am trying to connect a Sparkfun 14 segment digital display to a Plasma2040 which is running Python code, using the Qwiic interface on the Plasma board. I have had some help from Matt Taylor at Pimoroni who pointed me at https://smittytone.net/ht16k33-python/​. I am presently stuck with what I think is a problem relating to the configuration of the I2C interface from the 2040 to the display. Following the examples given in the documentation for the display on the “smittytone” web site simply doesn’t appear to help. Has anyone succeeded in making this interface work under Python? I am not a software expert by any means and in fact “newbie” is probably a closer description so please keep it simple!

I haven’t used that combination of boards, but I have used another HT16K33-based device with the Raspberry Pi and Python. I however used Adafruit’s HT16K33 packages rather than the ones you’ve listed.

What seems to be the issue with the I2C configuration?

Hi major_tomm. Thanks for the prompt reply. I am simply following the documentation on the “smittytone” website and in particular the examples given for Micropython on page 3.of the documentation 1.0.0 for HT16K33Segment14. When I simply enter these 6 lines of code in Thonny, having imported what I believe are the correct driver files, and running the code, I get a message in the Shell window that says " Traceback (most recent call last):

File “”, line 5, in

NameError: name ‘Pin’ isn’t defined.

The line of code to which this refers is " i2c = I2C(scl=Pin(DEVICE_I2C_SCL_PIN), sda=Pin(DEVICE_I2C_SDA_PIN))" (to save you looking it up). This is my sole rational for thinking it is an I2C configuration problem.

My gut reaction is that the Pin class hasn’t been imported properly, might be worth checking the #import statements again? I can’t look at it in any more detail at the moment, but will try and give it another look later.