MicrodotPhat - dumb Python question

I’m building a retropie console inside an old Atari 2600 case. I’ve set up my MicrodotPhat as a mini-screen inside the old cartridge port. I’m very new to Python and Raspian and right now I’d be happy just to have the MicrodotPhat permanently display the word “Atari”.

I’ve followed the docs and can get the microdotphat to display what I want within a Python session, but the microdotphat turns blank as soon as I exit() from Python. I can also tweak the python scripts in the microdotphat examples folder to display what I want, but the script either exits immediately and blanks the screen, or if I use ‘time’ it locks up the Raspberry Pi until I ctrl-c (and then blanks the screen).

Please can someone help out this poor noob and let me know how to keep the screen display on without locking up the Raspberry Pi in a Python session (i.e., so that it can display “Atari” while Retropie continues running?). Thank you!!!

You could likely call up your python file on boot up via crontab, and run it as a service in the background.
run sudo crontab -e
then add the following line to that file and save it.
@reboot python3 /home/pi/atari.py &
Change the atari.py to the file you want to run.
The code you want to repeat should be in the “while true” section.

Thank you lots! I’m still working on this, but at least now I’m going in the right direction :)

No problem, if your like me, its one long never ending learning experience.;)
It can be very rewarding and a lot of fun though, you just have to keep at it. =)

I’ve now realised that there is a simple way of doing this - the microdotphat python library has a command

set_clear_on_exit (False)

that leaves the screen on when the Python script terminates. Doh!