On/Of Shim

I have MusicBox image on my pi Zero W with the pHAT DAC, and I can only ssh into it by root, which is the login for Musicbox.
So when I try to sudo apt update etc, I get a message saying I am already root, try logging in as a user. If I knew how I would.

My question is, how do I login to Musicbox as a user and if not, how do I install the required software for the ON/Off Shim?

My plan is to use the pi Zero W headless, but would need to power off at times, so it could be moved to another location.

Try it without the sudo, just type apt-get update. I’m no expert on this stuff but it would be what I would try. Then post back with an “anybody else” if it doesn’t work. ;)

Thanks, that worked fine.

So what would be the answer to my actual question about using the On/Off shim

if you install the clean-shutdownd script then when you press the button on the onoff shim it will initiate a clean shutdown rather than just cut the power so that should be all you need to restart without any peripherals connected.

there are also two holes on the shim marked BTN which allow you to wire up a momentary switch which mimics the button on the shim itself so you could place it in a more accessible place and press when you want to shut down. the one thing I couldn’t find any guidance on was if there is a specific way to hook up the pins to the button (i.e. does it matter which hole is connected to which pin on the switch) my guess is that is doesnt but don’t hold me to that.

edit: just in case it wasn’t clear in alphanumeric’s response to install the onoff shim as root you just drop sudo off the install command as well (sudo essentially means ‘run this command as root’)