Rgbmatrix5x5 - using two programs to access different LED

Hi

I am new to coding on a raspberry pi (but not to using python). I have two different scripts which use the python library for the rgbmatrix5x5 connected to a pi zero w.

My two scripts are accessing different LEDs on the matrix, but it looks like the show() resets all LEDs before displaying a new signal. Is it possible for these two scripts to run at the same time and not reset the states already on the matrix?

I have the top three rows setup to make a simple binary clock, and I want the bottom two rows to display lights for a different signal. I tested changing the clear on exit function, but this only has an effect when the script is closed. Is there a different show function I can use which will not reset the state of all LEDs?

Thanks

So when you write a “screen” to the board it overwrites what is already in the 5x5’s memory. The library isn’t set up to only change the pixels you’ve specified, because that would require it to keep track of what you’ve changed since last time and then only write those LEDs to the 5x5 board in multiple write transactions. In short, both of your programs are using different buffers to hold the LED data, so each one isn’t aware of what the other is doing, and they just overwrite each other when talking to the 5x5 board.

It might be easier to try merging the programs into one, and just having a single write function to handle data for both of them.

Hi

Thanks a lot for the reply. Does this also mean there is no way to extract the current state of the matrix memory before sending the set pixel request, or to send a message to only adjust a single part of the memory state? I though perhaps it would be possible because of the clear on exit functionality leaves the lights switched on (but indeed, no further updates are then made to the matrix).