Pi5 Breakout Garden Sorry, I couldn't find any breakouts!

Hi All,

New here. I just put together a Pi 5 with the latest Raspberry Pi OS (64bit) released: 2024-03-15 and ran updates.

Then mounted the Breakout Garden for Raspberry Pi (I2C + SPI) PIM445. I also enabled I2C in raspi-config.

Plugged in three breakout garden modules:

1. 3DOF Motion Sensor MSA301
  2. 9DOF Motio Sensor ICM20948
  3. 8x8 TOF Array Sensor VL53L5CX

I went to the git repo by clicking the link under the SOFTWARE heading on the Pimoroni Breakout Garden web page and looked for something called, “automagic installer,” but couldn’t find that. So, I followed the readme.md installation instructions steps 1 through 5, but got stuck there. After running the sudo ./install.sh command, I got the message, “Sorry, I couldn’t find any breakouts!”

This is my first time with a Pi 5, the latest OS, and anything Pimoroni. I’m sure I’ve done something wrong. (The breakouts are not in backwards, as I saw in another post.)

Does anyone see where I got off track?

I feel like I should load libraries for the individual modules, but am unsure how to proceed. Are there any other dependencies I should be aware of?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
robin

Make sure i2c is enabled in Raspberry Pi Configuration. Might also want to enable SPI while your there.

Hi Alphanumeric,

Thanks for the reply.

On my first running of the script, I had not enabled I2C in raspi-config, but it was smart enough to notice that and enable it on its own. I still got the couldn’t find breakouts message. After reading some online posts, I enabled it manually, and still got the same message, even after rebooting.

What do you see if you run sudo i2cdetect -y 1 from a terminal window.

There are individual installers for each breakout by the way.
GitHub - pimoroni/msa301-python: Python library for the MSA301 3-axis accelerometer

GitHub - pimoroni/vl53l5cx-python: CTypes Python bindings for the VL53L5CX