Automation HAT/pHAT outputs and external power supply wiring issue

Hi,

I am trying to use the Automation Phat to control a lighting fixture (wiki) with an external 10VDC power supply.

The wiring is as follows:

10V psu positive lead ----> positive dimmer contact
negative dimmer contact ----> Output 1 on the pHAT
10V psu negative lead ----> GND on the pHAT

is this correct? (I am not that good with electronics)

The problem I am having is that when the output pin is ON, I measure 9.5V at the dimmer’s contacts.
But when the output is OFF, I should get 0v, but I measure around 10.5V.
I measure 10v exactly at the psu’s contacts.

Before that I tried to blink a LED using the output and the 5V pin as described here:
https://learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/sandyj/getting-started-with-automation-hat-and-phat
…and it worked perfectly fine.

I am a bit at a loss here, any insight would be appreciated.

thank you,

Lwi

I would use one of the relays instead.
10V psu positive lead ---- positive dimmer contact
negative dimmer contact ---- Relay 1 NO;
10V psu negative lead ---- Relay no 1 COM

I want to use the outputs for PWM (which works well with the internal 5v supply), so the relays are not useful to me at this point.

Ah OK, I missed the PWM part somehow, sorry about that.
Are you putting the output low or just floating?
Maybe post the code your using with the automation hat.

Let’s leave the PWM aspects aside for now. I am just trying the most basic of scripts:

import time
import automationhat

while True:
    print("on")
    automationhat.output.one.write(1)
    time.sleep(5)
    print("off")
    automationhat.output.one.write(0)
    time.sleep(5)

Try automationhat.output.one.on() and automationhat.output.one.off()

I tried and got the same results. Can you confirm that my wiring is ok?

That I’m not sure about? Are you trying to make the automation pHat do what the dimmer does?
If yes then I “think” it should be in parallel.