Connecting Enviro to R Pi4

Hi,

I am a beginner and received Enviro - Indoor Monitor ( I thnk it is the Enviro-mini-pHAT)
I am trying to connect it but can’t seem to have it recognized by the Pi unit

I have followed the instructions on

up to before the “example” section - rebooted but after multiple try it does not seem to get detected:

I also tried the install from the README.md with
curl -sSL https://get.pimoroni.com/enviroplus | bash

After Reboot:

Running

$Python3 weather.py

=> returns: Unable to find bme280 on 0x76, IOError

And running

$i2cdetect -y 1

=> returns only empty slots

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 a b c d e f
00:    -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
20: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
30: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
40: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
50: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
60: – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – -- – --
70: – -- – -- – -- – 

This is how it’s connected to the Pi through the 40 pin.

Any help appreciated.
Is there a way to check if the Enviro unit itself is powered? faulty?

Thanks!

This is the side view of how it’s connected to the Pi

Somethings messed up? The LTR-559 should also show up in i2cdetect.
I don’t own an Enviro but I have been running some of the examples on the equivalent breakout garden setup.
I would have a look under the Enviro and make sure its not shorting out on any metal bits on the Pi.
Make sure SPI is enabled in Raspberry Pi configuration and reboot. Then try running the lcd.py file in the examples folder. You should get a Hello World message on the LCD display. If that works you know the Enviro has power.

1 Like

Thanks @Alphanumeric -
Good point on enabling SPI - it is - but I did not think about checking that.
When I power the RPi4 there is a flash on the LCD - so it seems it’s getting powered somehow.