Enviro Grow - replace humidity sensor #3 with a potentiometer for getting the water level

Hello,

I am a newbie to Pimoroni but have made the first step by purchasing an Enviro Grow + Accessory kit (means including the pumps).

What I’m trying to achieve is to use the 3rd channel for logging the water level of the water container. Therefore I wanna use a potentiometer, a float and a lever that connects the floating thing with the potentiometer.

So my question is:
Regardless of the effort of customizing the existing code - is it possible to connect a potentiometer to the JST Connector that actually belongs to the 3rd sensor?

And if so, what potentiometer would you recommend in terms of a) battery life and b) accuracy (the expected angle will be approx. 25 deg - less than 1/12 of a full rotation - when not planning to have a gear between the lever and the pot)

Looking forward to hearing som inspirational answers,

SickNature

The moisture sensors are capacitive not resistive. A time of flight distance sensor may work though.

Wired up to the qwicc connecter.

Hi Kerry,

Thank you so much for this information and pointing me to the fact that a pot wouldn’t work.

Still there are some questions left open:

1. I am wondering whether this TOF sensor will work for a 15cm high container with - let’s say - max 14cm water depth and the sensor located close to the surface . (I have read that the sensor has an accuracy of +/- 25mm and requires at least 4cm distance.)
    The container has a lid so it will be quite dark inside the box. So I assume there will not be too much distraction but a clear signal instead. Will this increase the accuracy so that I can at least recognize rough water level (let’s say: full - 75% - 50% - 25% - (almost) empty)

2. Will the proximity sensor be able to deal with a water surface?
    Or do I need any reflector on the surface of the water (kinda float)?

3. And what about a mirror between the sensor and the water level?