HQ camera problem

Hi -

I have a raspberry pi 4, an HQ camera and the 6mm lens. I’ve set the pi, camera and lens up as recommended (so no C-CS adaptor, I’ve screwed the back focus all the way in), I enabled in software and I’m using “motion” to get a preview image from the camera. I get an “image” but it is basically one big blur : totally out of focus. Fiddling around with aperture and focus rings I cannot get it to improve focus at all.

I never like to accuse the product of being faulty but I’m getting to the point where either I’ve missed something basic or there is a fault.

Checking the sensor I cannot see a supplied covering so I don’t think that’s it. Doesn’t ‘feel’ like a software fault - if I wave my hands around in front of the lens or move the camera its clearly picking up light and an image of sorts.

Is there anything else I can try? Could the camera be faulty?

• Daniel

I’m no expert ,so i started here , try taking a picture using the command prompt ,and you should be able to setup focus easier ,works for me .https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/projects/getting-started-with-picamera/3

Thanks for replying, using the ‘raspistill -o’ command I can take a picture, I get exactly the same result as using motion. I’ve attached an example.

I have the HQ and the 16mm telephoto lens. I just screwed it on and adjusted it.
If you run this python code you can get a 30 second preview. You adjust the focus and see if its better or worse on the fly with a live video of what the camera sees.
I’m sure there are other ways to get a preview, its what I had on hand. I had other code in the file for the pan tilt hat and just striped it out before posting it.

from picamera import PiCamera
from time import sleep
camera = PiCamera()
camera.rotation = 180
camera.resolution = (1280, 720)

camera.start_preview()
sleep(30)
camera.stop_preview()

Ah, it appears its raspistill -t 0
And ctrl-c to exit back out.