Need help visualising BME680 Breakout readings with an Unicorn pHAT

I am only getting started with BME680 Breakout but already grasping for the stars – and at a loss! :-D The article suggests:

Why not visualise the gas resistance readings with one of our LED boards?

1. The BME680 Breakout goes onto pins 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 of my Pi (the bottom left 5 pins on the GPIO header).

2. Following the tutorial for Assembling the Mood Light would mean soldering all 2x20 pins of the Unicorn pHAT. That would make it impossible to connect both BME680 Breakout and Unicorn pHAT to the Pi. I found this pinout for the Unicorn pHAT but I have trouble reading it. It appears to me that I do not need to connect all 2x20 pins, but only 2, 5 6, 9, 12, 14, 20, 25, 30, 34 and 39.

Can someone confirm this?

I am using the following hardware:

• Pi Zero W & Unicorn pHAT (included in Mood Light - Pi Zero W Project Kit /PIM259)
  • BME680 Breakout - Air Quality, Temperature, Pressure, Humidity Sensor /PIM357
  • GPIO Hammer Header Male + Female + Installation Jig /PIM296
  • NOOBS 16GB microSD card (2.7) /RPI-024

I would decidedly prefer to use the Hammer Headers to soldering. Is this possible?

What I did was connect my BME680 via female jumpers, to a male header I soldered to a Proto Hat. On the Proto Hat I then wire the male header to the appropriate GPIO pins with jumper wire. Like so.

The Proto Hat has a stacking header on it. I plug the Proto Hat into my Pi, then my Unicorn Hat HD on top of that. Thats the plan anyway. Right now a Sense Hat is in place that will eventually be replaced with the Unicorn Hat HD. I display a scrolling message with date, time, temp, humidity, and barometric pressure on the sense hat 8 x 8 LED matrix. I want to up that to 16 x 16. I have to sort out my python code first though on a test setup.

EDIT: In your case you may want to use a proto zero, https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/protozero