Pan Tilt Hat Motion Eye OS action buttons

I’m trying to get my Pan Tilt Hat working in the latest Motion Eye. To do this you have to create Action Button Files and put them in a specific location. Problem is I can’t find that location /etc/motioneye as per here,

There are three partitions / drives on the Motion Eye SD card, with etc folders on each one, none have a motioneye folder in them though? And which one is the right one?

If anybody has done this, or is trying to do it, any help or insight you can offer will greatly be appreciated.

Ok, if I SSH into one of my cameras, there is an etc directory, but no motioneye directory in it. There is a motioneye.conf file though? I’m a Linux noob but I assume only directories have the / after them? There are several other .conf files that I assume are configuration files?
Any Linux people out there to help me out? I’m thinking I’ll just put my files there and see what happens. @gadgetoid @sandyjmacdonald

Ok, I made “some” progress. I logged in as root via putty. And then created my files in /data/etc by running nano /data/etc/up_1
I then copy and pasted this.

import pantilthat

pantilthat.pan(0)
pantilthat.tilt(+7)

Saved the file and then made it executable by running chmod +x /data/etc/up_1
I now have my button in the web gui, but clicking it gets me the following message in red.
An error occurred, refreshing is advised. And the pan tilt didn’t move.
I also tried chmod 755 /data/etc/up_1 same deal, an error occurred?
So close but so far?
This is what I was following

My head wants to implode but I figured it out by trial and " LOTS " of errors.

EDIT: This was all done via SSH from putty running on my Windows PC. I couldn’t copy any files to the SD card in a reader plugged into My other raspberry PI due to permission issues.

I SSH’d in and logged in as root then did the following from the terminal session.

First I create the up_1 file by creating the following bash script with:

nano /data/etc/up_1