Piano and Drum HATs don't work properly on Pi 4 - Pi 4 at fault?

Hey everyone

I’ve been getting my new Pi 4 set up so I can start tinkering with a few ideas for my local Code Club. I’ve only just got around to unwrapping and trying the Piano and Drum HATs I bought myself a while ago.

On a fresh install of Buster, with both of the full libraries installed and utilising the included examples, neither HAT works properly. The Drum HAT can light up the LEDs but touching the pads doesn’t register in any of the examples. With the Piano HAT, again, all the LEDs can light up, but only the first 3/4 keys register any touch.

I did wonder if it was the HATs or the library, so I’ve tried them on a 3B+ that I have, which is as up to date as it can be and they work fine - so this says to me that it’s a problem with the Pi 4?

Is it something that might likely be fixed with any upcoming updates, or could it be an error with the pins? I’m still new to all things Pi and Python so I’m not sure how I’d go about diagnosing any further.

Thanks in advance for any input!

It could also be an issue thats Buster related. Assuming your Pi 3B is running Jessie or Stretch.
There is a new Buster image as of 07-10, is that the one your using?
Do you get any error messages when you run sudo apt-get update?
If yes run sudo apt-get update --allow-releaseinfo-change

i’ll try my piano on a pi3b+ running blaster ,updated from Raspbian Streatch .
the pimoroni dashboard will not open on this setup ,just a quick flash of a square lines on the screen

1 Like

On first try the piano did nothing, i rebooted pi and tried again ,its working fine now, so it could be a Pi4 issue, and not a Blaster issue

1 Like

The 3B+ was running Stretch, you’re completely right.