Setting up keybow software on a normal Raspbian OS

Hi!
I’m still a bit of a noob when it comes to the Raspberry PI and since it took me a bit to figure out how to get the keybow software up and running on a normal Raspbian install I figured I’d share my method here :-) And perhaps collect some good pointers or suggestions from more experienced folks.

I wanted this setup so I can work on my keybow bindings over wifi instead of plugging the sdcard back and forth all the time. And in case I ever want the keybow to do something more fancy than just send keyboard events. And keep in mind this setup will take a lot longer to boot up than the minimal keybow OS image.

So here I’ll just quickly list how I did the following:

1. autoconnect to wifi
  2. turn on ssh
  3. setup the Raspberry zero as a USB gadget
  4. install the keybow software and autorun it on boot

I downloaded and flashed ‘Raspbian Buster Lite’ from Raspberry Pi OS – Raspberry Pi

Once that is done you should see two partitions on the sdcard: rootfs and boot. We’ll add and edit files in both of these.

1: To autoconnect to your wifi add a file called ‘wpa_supplicant.conf’ in the boot partition and fill it with your settings. I used this template, ymmv.

country=US # Your 2-digit country code
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
network={
ssid=“YOUR_NETWORK_NAME”
psk=“YOUR_PASSWORD”
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}

(I did notice that the raspberry wouldn’t connect to my 5ghz connection, there may be another setting for this or I’m doing something wrong)

2: To enable ssh just add an empty file called ‘SSH’ in the boot partition

3: In order for the Raspberry to act like a USB gadget we need to enable the proper modules. Inside the boot partition open the ‘config.txt’ file and add the line ‘dtoverlay=dwc2’ at the end. Then open ‘cmdline.txt’ and add the line ‘modules-load=dwc2,libcomposite’ just after where it says ‘rootwait’. Mine looks like this: