Simple scrollphat hd code

Hi I am a total beginner going through the guizero tutorials and I have gotten the scrollphat hd to display my message when i click the button. As you can see i have placed in the TextBox function from guizero to type in text which i hope to display on the scrollphat hd but I am at a standstill as the . set and .get functions in the tutorial are getting me nowhere. Any help would be great!

The ones documented here? https://lawsie.github.io/guizero/textbox/

In your case, surely message.get() is all you need to retrieve the textbox value?

Thanks for the help, ok i solved the problem but now i am looking to have the clear button clear out the info but it will not activate?

This is where everything gets a little tricky.

In brief; your scroll_name() function is running a while True loop which, if GUI Zero is single-threaded, will block any further functions from running.

Once your program hits the top of that while True, all other input will be unresponsive until the loop is broken.

There are ways to fix this, but right now I’d focus on just displaying a short name/word and clearing it, without any looping or animation.

In order to do anything fancy, you will need to:

• Spawn a thread to exclusively handle displaying things on the Scroll pHAT HD
  • Find some way of passing messages to that thread, to tell it what to do next
  • Change your UI handlers so that they send messages and return without blocking (running for a long time, or indefinitely)

There’s a good pattern for this buried in the Twitter Hashtag example, but it may not be easy to extract: https://github.com/pimoroni/scroll-phat-hd/blob/master/examples/twitter-hashtag.py

This is a very common pitfall with GUI programming- unless you properly architect your code, button actions will end up “blocking” and cause the UI to be sluggish at best and completely unresponsive at worst.