[Python] Change Scroll pHat buffer based on user input

Hey!

First of all, I am having a ton of fun playing around with the Pi Zero and Scroll pHAT – thanks for putting this little LED wonder out there! But as this is my first time programming since I was a nipper, I’m having a little bit of trouble getting over a certain hurdle.

I’m familiar with while loops to scroll the string in the buffer across the LEDs, but I’m unsure how to change what’s in the buffer based on the user’s input. Also I want to use an initial message as a prompt, a bit like a print("context") would give the user context. Can anyone help?

import time
import scrollphat

# I'm clearing anything in the buffer on execution
scrollphat.clear()
scrollphat.set_brightness(7)
scrollphat.set_rotate(True)

# This is the initial prompt, asking user for input
def greet_me():
    while True:
        scrollphat.write_string("Say hello to me", 11) # Write message to buffer
        scrollphat.scroll() # Move buffer left by one column
        time.sleep(0.1) # Sleep 0.1 seconds, continue loop

# This is the response based on user input: clear buffer then respond
def say_thanks():
    scrollphat.clear()
    while True:
        scrollphat.write_string("Hello you!", 11)
        scrollphat.scroll()
        time.sleep(0.1)

greeting = ""

while greeting != "hello":
    greet_me()

What I want to do next is run through the say_thanks() loop when greeting == "hello". I need to set greeting = input() at some point but I’m not sure where. What do you reckon, oh wise ones?

Thanks in advance for any help!

This will take some thought- it’s actually a more complicated problem than it might first appear. That’s because it might require Python do two things simultaneously;

• Display and scroll “Say hello to me” on the screen
  • Continuously ask the user for input

And it must change what it’s doing based upon that input.