Scrolling a buffered list of strings across the scroll phat hd

Hey all, ordered the Scroll Bot yesterday and received it today - awesome.

I’m just toying around with the API for the scroll phat hd, but I’m having some trouble building what I’m after.

Ideally, I want to build a function to which I can send individual strings. Each string it receives will be added to the end of a buffer list, and sent out for display on the scroll phat hd in turn, before being popped off the list once that particular string has been shown. If the buffer list is empty, it’ll simply display nothing (or, maybe some type of ambient animation).

I’ve looked at the examples provided and can see the hello world examples scroll a string continually, but this isn’t what I’m after. I have tried my hand at modifying the advanced scrolling example into something similar to what I want, but I’m new to python, so not having much luck decoding what’s going on.

The ultimate goal of this is to display messages sent to it via MQTT, but I’m sure such a function could be used for a whole ton of different applications (tweets, email notifications, etc…)

Can someone point me in the right direction please? Thank you.

So, because I’m not one to give up quite so easily (and because I’ll be shouted at if I don’t at least attempt to solve this problem myself), here’s what I’ve come up with:

#!/usr/bin/env python
import time
import sys

import scrollphathd
from scrollphathd.fonts import font5x7

scrollphathd.rotate(180)

if len(sys.argv) != 2:
    print("\nusage: python echo.py \"message\" \npress CTRL-C to exit\n")
    sys.exit(0)

string = sys.argv[1]
length = len(string)
width = 17
buffer = (length * 6) + width

scrollphathd.write_string(string + "      ", x=width, y=0, font=font5x7, brightness=0.5)

for i in range(buffer):
    scrollphathd.show()
    scrollphathd.scroll(1)
    time.sleep(0.05)