Stacking different Hat or pHats on same unit

Total beginner here and want to know what would be the best way of stacking multiple boards on the GPIO.
I have just received my new Zero yesterday and and looking at various projects, but once I have worked out what I need ,how do you connect say a enviopHat or senseHat and another different pHat .
I want to just run the one unit but be able to switch between 2 projects without any dismantling bits because I am thinking a custom case anyway.
I assume there must be a male/female header that makes upward expansion possible.

You need to arm yourself with two things:

and either: https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/mini-black-hat-hack3r

or some 11mm stackable headers: https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/2x20-pin-gpio-header-for-raspberry-pi-2-b-a

Some metal or nylon spacers would be handy too, to hold everything in place, but I can’t find the blighters!

2 Likes

Thanks, I realise I need to check pinouts, I looked through the shop and was possibly slightly confused , the mini black-hat-hack3r could be just what I need because the enviro can be mounted remote on the end of the ribbon. Hope to get my next order for bits in before Christmas.

On a related issue, I was wondering if there is some kind of “switching hat” available which would allow the user to plug in say, three or four different hats and access them by toggling? That would also save a lot of unplugging and rewiring (particularly when you are working on several different projects). I’m not talking about switching during a program - just having the option to choose which hat I’m communicating with when I work on something different. I wouldn’t have thought this would be too difficult, but my powers of googling haven’t come up with anything.

Any suggestions?

I don’t think that sort of solution exists.