Unicorn Hat and Used Pins

Ciao Everyone!

I’m quite new to Raspberry Pi and Unicorn Hat but I was able to set it up and play with the example codes a little bit.

Does the Unicorn Hat use all the pins? In other words can I use some pins to add other hardware while keeping the Unicorn Hat working as expected?

I’m quite a newbie, thanks for you help!

It uses a sum total of one pin; GPIO 18. This is the data pin, it also uses 5V and GND but since they’re not IO pins it doesn’t matter. You can take the hat right off the Pi and drive it from an Arduino if you wanted.

If you want to drive it from the Pi you can probably use 3 jump wires; make sure you plug them into the header and not the little breakout contacts on the side of the HAT though. Unicorn Hat has logic level conversion for the Pi onboard.

Apologies for hijacking this thread, but it seems like an appropriate place to ask. Which of the pins are used/not used on the dot3k? Are the sca and sdl pins free? Or could one piggyback onto them anyway?

I think your question is relevant, somewhat anyway!

By “sca and sdl” do you mean the Clock and Data lines for I2C? http://pi.gadgetoid.com/pinout/i2c

You can connect multiple I2C devices to these pins, as long as their addresses don’t conflict with the SN3218 chip on the Display-o-Tron- 0x54.

Dot3k and UnicornHat could, in theory, run from the same Pi.

I’ve added the Joystick pins that Dot3k uses to Pinout, here: http://pi.gadgetoid.com/pinout/dot3k

Yep, those are the ones. That’s what I suspected re. multiple devices running off those pins, but thought I’d double check. Cheers!!

I followed your suggestion and gave it a try.

I used three jump wires:

Pin#2 - Power 5v
Pin#12 - GPIO18
PIN#14 - Ground

Nothing happened when I launched a test script.
As you wrote I used the Unicorn HAT header and not the contacts on the side.

I’m afraid I’m not familiar enough to grasp all the hidden rules when working with wires and Pi.