Using Fanshim software on KodI libreElec

I was hoping to install the Fanshim Daemon on my pi4 to control the fan. How ever libreElec is locked down. Does anyone know if it’s possible to get the Daemon on with out using git.

2 Likes

I can’t answer that question directly but just FYI. The fan on the fan shim will just run continuous if you install the shim and skip installing the software.
The LED doesn’t work but the button does. Its how mine is currently setup. My temps even when my Pi 4 is working hard are right around 40c.

Thanks alphanumeric , I do have it working OK, I would have liked to have controlled it based on temperature. I suspect the best way to integrate it would be to write a Kodi Add in which included the code, but I am not sure my Python skills are good enough. Although I have been a developer for 35 years I mostly code on php and iSeries systems and am getting too old to learn new stuff.

1 Like

I’ve been learning as I go, Python wise. I learn a little more with each new gismo I buy.
What happens if you run, sudo pip install fanshim? Or a better question, can you run pip?

No I can’t run Pip or Sudo or Git or apt-get on LibreElec

1 Like

I think your out of luck then, You need to install the python library for the fan shim to do anything with it in python.

Me too , i’ve been looking for quite a while. You would think Pimoroni would have written a tutorial? Libreelec is a very common distro for Rpi.

There are people that have resolved this but their instructions are only usable if you’re tech savvy. Someone at Pimoroni should write an idiots guide otherwise it’s only a raspbian fan. Below are links to what I’ve found.

Ephumeris on the Libreelec forum has it working and has offered help when he has time. If he sends me a guide I’ll repost it on this thread.

http://www.philrandal.co.uk/blog/archives/2019/07/entry_214.html