Adding some external buttons to a Galactic Unicorn

Hi,

Forgive what may be a stupid question: I’m new to messing around with hardware.

I’ve bought a Galactic Unicorn and have enjoyed playing with the software. I’ve set it up to give me the next train time from my local station with some nice background effects. I’m thinking of adding another couple of scripts. One to get the weather. Another for a clock. Maybe also a temperature sensor in due course.

My eventual plan is to put it on the wall, probably battery powered.

The problem with this is that I don’t think the buttons on the back are very accessible if it is wall mounted. They also aren’t very intuitive if you don’t know they are there, so I was wondering if I could add some external ones which would be more “button like” and forward facing. Probably just 3 or 4

There are lots of tutorials and boards for doing this with a Pico W but they all seem to assume that you have access to all the headers, which obviously isn’t possible in the Galactic Unicorn.

From reading the documents about the Galactic Unicorn, I think the only way of extending the hardware is via the QW/ST connectors but I cannot work out whether any boards are available which have a few buttons and something which plugs into one of those. Or whether it would be straightforward to make.

Might anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Jacob

Hmm, this maybe? It has 5 buttons, and the wheel. Could be connected with a QWICC cable.
RGB Encoder Wheel Breakout (pimoroni.com)

Or this, with your own buttons / switches. You’ll have to do some wiring though.
IO Expander Breakout (pimoroni.com)

Thanks for the answer!

Hmm, this maybe? It has 5 buttons, and the wheel. Could be connected with a QWICC cable.
RGB Encoder Wheel Breakout (pimoroni.com)

That looked like the simplest but it seems slightly overkill for what I was after.

Or this, with your own buttons / switches. You’ll have to do some wiring though.