ESP IoT pHAT - what does it achieve?

I’ve had one of these for a couple of weeks and got as far as learning how to communicate with it and flash the firmware but so far I can’t think of a reason to use it. I keep wondering about the logic behind directly attaching an ESP module to a Pi Zero.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking this pHat - perhaps I came to it from the wrong angle.

I’ve been playing with ESP-12F modules for 6 months or so and, to me at least, the place of an RPi in my projects is at the end of a wifi connection and not directly connected. A simple example is a temp/humidity monitor for my greenhouse - ESP, sensor, other components, stripboard and battery come in at under 10 quid. I use my PI 2 sitting in my house as an MQTT broker and an Android app to get regular temp/humidity readings. Using one of the pHATs with a PiZero (plus sensor and components) is an extravagant way of doing things - plus working out how to power it.

OK…so it’s just a prototyping / learning tool??? If that’s the case then in many ways, it masks the use of ESP modules which can exist on their own (battery powered ESP with temp sensor in my hall which sends readings to my MQTT broker which publishes to my home automation server which tells a mains powered ESP in my boiler to switch the central heating on/off for example). I have other projects such as a battery powered ESP with luminosity sensor which causes a lamp in my living room to switch on when it gets dark (the relay for the lamp is controlled by another ESP). A weather station in my shed with an ESP which sends readings direct from an ESP).

So am I missing something? I’ve been mulling this over for the past week and still can’t work out what to use the ESP pHAT for. I need a “light bulb moment”. :)

Cheers,
Brian

A learning tool? Sure… but what’s stopping you from taking the pHAT off the Pi and power it independently for placement in much the same projects that you describe too?