Explorer hat Pro Coding for non analogue input

Hi everyone,

Newbie. Quite simply how do I code for input sensors.

For example I am trying to get a IR obstacle sensor to work in input 1 but don’t know how to write it into code for the explorer hat. There doesn’t appear to be any instructions (can only find info for analogue sensors).

I’m a newbie so a little lost. All I want to do is for a program to print ‘object detected’ when it is within say 10cm or print whenever a change occurs (perhaps the distance value?). Any advice would be great.

Thanks,

Dee

A link to info on the IR sensor would help.

Hi,

It’s the IR Sensor for Obstacle Avoidance KY-032.

http://irsensor.wizecode.com/

The function reference is here,

Input
Explorer HAT/pHAT includes 4 buffered, 5v tolerant inputs. These act just like the GPIO pins on your Pi and don't require any special treatment. When you send a HIGH signal into them, you'll read a HIGH pin state ( 1 ) in Python.
read() - Read the state of the input
has_changed() - Returns true if the input has changed since the last read
on_changed( handler_function[, bounce_time ] ) - Calls "handler_function" when the input changes, debounce time ( in ms ) is optional
on_low( handler_function[, bounce_time ] ) - Calls "handler_function" when the input goes low ( off )
on_high( handler_function[, bounce_time ] ) - Calls "handler_function" when the input goes on ( high )
clear_events() - Remove all handlers
Unlike analog events, you'll get an instance of the input passed to your handler function, so you can do something like this:
def changed(input):
  state = input.read()
  name  = input.name
  print("Input {} changed to {}".format(name,state))

explorerhat.input.one.changed(changed)
Then, when you change the input you'll see something like:
Input one changed to 1
Input one changed to 0

And from the link you posted

microDelay( 210);                   // Wait 210µs (8 pulses of 38kHz).