Explorer pHat - name not defined

Hi,

Fairly sure i’m doing something stupid here, but i’m a beginner so pls forgive etc.

I’ve recently bought a pi zero, explorer pHat and explorer hat parts kit. I tried to get a motor running, which didn’t work, so I decided to follow one of your tutorials to check if it was my code or something else which was wrong.
I decided to try the minecraft thermometer (https://learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/explorer-hat/making-a-minecraft-thermometer).

When I open idle and try to import explorer hat and read from analog one i get this:

>>> import explorerhat
>>> explorerhat.analog.one.read()

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<pyshell#5>", line 1, in <module>
    explorerhat.analog.one.read()
NameError: name 'explorerhat' is not defined
>>> 

I have installed the python library using

curl -sS https://get.pimoroni.com/explorerhat | bash

and I have enabled i2c in raspi-config

Do you have any ideas what I could be doing wrong/not doing?

Thanks!

This sounds like the import step in IDLE is failing silently.

Try opening up Terminal, running python and typing import explorerhat straight into the Python REPL it gives you.

Or running: python -c "import explorerhat"

And let me know if you see any sort of error/warning output.

Thanks for the response.

I tried both of those and got:

Warning, could not find Analog or Touch...
Please check your i2c settings!

both times. I’ve double checked that i have i2c enabled in raspi-config.

Could you post a pic of your soldering job both on the zero and phat?

I’m not allowed more than one image in a post as I’m a new user, I hope imgur links are fine? let me know if you want the pictures some other way.

Here are pictures of the (rather shitty) soldering. I know the pi looks like a graveyard, but I have lit an led from every power/output and to every ground pin, so I don’t think that’s an issue.