Inky pHAT and Pi newb wanting help on displaying images

Hi, I am new to the Pi and I am new to Python. I have just purchased an Inky pHAT and have it installed on my Pi Zero W okay. I am following the instructions on https://learn.pimoroni.com/tutorial/sandyj/getting-started-with-inky-phat, and have the software installed. I am now at the ‘Displaying images on Inky pHAT’ part of the tutorial and wish to convert an existing image using the instructions. I have done the ‘Git Clone’ bit, but when it says about finding the colour palette at ‘inky-phat/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl,’ when I input that at terminal I am getting ‘permission denied.’ How do I proceed from here please? Also, I am not getting the next part either, SELECTING the Inky-pHAT.gpl colour palette. I can’t find it following the instructions.

I’d appreciate any and all help. Thanks for your patience and understanding.

You might also be able to grab it with: wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/pimoroni/inky-phat/master/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl or simply by visiting this URL and saving it from your browser: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/pimoroni/inky-phat/master/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl

I have grabbed the content okay. it seemed to have worked both ways; gitclone and wget.

Then when I proceed to the next step, and input “inky-phat/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl” at terminal, I get “bash: inky-phat/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl: Permission denied.”

Without this I am unable to proceed to the next step, selecting the Inky-pHAT.gpl colour palette in GIMP.

The line

You’ll find the colour palette at inky-phat/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl.

Means that’s where to find it, but if you type inky-phat/tools/Inky-pHAT.gpl in the terminal it’ll fail, since that’s a colour palette for GIMP and not an executable file.

You need to move on to:

Select Use custom palette, then click the Palette selection dialogue button. Select Palette file and then select the Inky-pHAT.gpl palette file from the GitHub repo that we just cloned.

Okay, thanks.