Inky WHAT with Temperature sensor and Real-Time clock breakout

Hi everyone!

I have just purchased my very first raspberry pi zero 2 with the intention of making a weather station and clock for my desk. Along with the pi, I also got :

• Inky WHAT e-ink screen,
  • BME280 temp/pressure/humidity sensor breakout
  • RV3028 Real-time clock breakout
  • Unicorn HAT mini RGB board

I have just started to put things together, and figured out that the inky screen plugs straight into the raspberry pi, using all the pins. Then I realized, how am I supposed to attach all the breakout boards, if all the pins are already used by the screen?
I noticed that the screen comes with a header that sandwiches the pi and gives me all female pins on the back. So could I use that to add a breakout board, which I can then plug in my breakout boards?

Sorry if this is a dumb question! I am just beginning on my first raspberry pi project today. If anyone has any suggested links on how I can put all the above breakouts onto one board with the screen, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks!
evol

The Inky-What has some pins broken out (left lower edge on the back). This gives you the I2C-pins that you need for the BME280 and RV3028.

I see no option that you use the Unicorn Hat together with the what, even with some pin-multiplexers, since both hats use SPI and share a chip-select pin.

Another thing to consider: your readings from the BME280 will be heavily off unless you operate the pi zero in on/off mode.

1 Like

Awesome! I didnt even notice those pins on the bottom left. Thanks for that!
Is there a way I can stack both the BME280 and RV3028 together on those pins?
I forgot to mention, I also have a pimoroni 5x5 RGB matrix breakout that is the same size as the other breakouts, so perhaps I could get all three on those breakout pins?