Pi 4, Fan and 16-Channel PWM

I want to add a fan to my Pi 4 configuration witch includes Adafruit 16-channel PWM HAT and 3 16-channel PWM Bonnets. The fanShim uses one of the I2C pins so need another answer. I want to use 5vdc, 200ma fan

1. Is there any reason I can’t plug the fan into one of the PWM HAT’s outputs using the +5v/ground to power the fan?

2. Can I use the PWM control signal and a NPN transistor to turn the fan on/off? Seems that a duty cycle of 100% 3v3dc would be on and a duty cycle of 0% would be off. When to turn on or off is a software question - that should be easy.

What am I missing?

I would think 1 and 2 are doable, option 1 for sure.
I’m no expert but I do believe the PWM signal used for servos differs from what you’d use to say adjust the brightness of an LED. Just keep that in mind when your researching it and setting it up. It sounds like your probably already ahead of me on that front though.
I have a full Pan Tilt kit, but the Pan Tilt Hat does all the PWM magic for me.

I haven’t tried what you want to do but keep in mind that these fans were designed to run DC and you would be effectively running them AC (monophasic). You might want to consider putting a capacitor (either inline or in series) on the fan to even out the pulses.

The voltage never actually goes negative but I get where your coming from. It’s pulsed DC.
In the true sense AC current reverses polarity. It might sound like nit picking, thats not my intention, its just that I’m a retired electronic technician. ;)
In this case the average voltage that the fan sees will go down as the pulse width decreases. Same thing will happen with less pulses.
Also, what voltage is the PWM pulse, the Pi uses 3V logic. If the PWM pulse is 3V max you will never get full fan speed. Not if you drive the fan directly from the PWM pin.

Hey, I’m a retired tech too. Biomedical equipment.