Pi Zero W and Mote

Hi there, I wonder can someone help me here, I am new to this and am I am trying to follow the tutorial - Using Mote with Homekit and Siri. So far I have the mote working on both my laptop and the Pi Zero W (not at the same time) but I have run into a problem with the Pi, when I try to install nodejs I get the message -

You appear to be running on ARMv6 hardware. Unfortunately this is not currently supported by the NodeSource Linux distributions. Please use the ‘linux-armv6l’ binary tarballs available directly from nodejs.org for Node.js v4 and later.

I just can’t figureout how to install this, nothing I could find so far works.

thanks,
fi

the message indicates that indeed your Raspberry Pi is not compatible with the distribution of nodejs mentioned in the tutorial.

Unfortunately I don’t know of any pre-compiled distribution compatibble with the armv6 processor… the Raspbian repo has a version of node js but it is so outdated that I highly doubt that you’d get any further with the tutorial/homebridge.

… I’ll flag it to @sandyjmacdonald as I think it would be worth mentioning in the tutorial that this is only compatible with the Pi2/Pi3. Sorry about that!

PS: you could of course try to compile it from source, but I would highly advise not to try, this will be a gruesome and long process that I’m not even would get you anywhere useful, though in theory it should be possible.

PS2: I see that Sandy mentions the Pi3 as an assumed underlying hardware mid-way through the tutorial, though a clarification right on the onset would avoid any disappointment or puzzlement.

It is indeed possible to get a recent version of node.js installed on the Zero W without too much hassle. You should begin with a freshly-burned Raspbian Lite. The instructions below are a slightly-modified version of what is in this blog post: https://blog.miniarray.com/installing-node-js-on-a-raspberry-pi-zero-21a1522db2bb

In the terminal, type:

cd ~