Pirate player for pirate audio

hi i’m new and a total noob, but i have a question about the pirate audio

i’ve tried to install pirateplayer for the pirate audio but when i try to start “pirateplayer” i’ve get this error

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/home/pi/.local/bin/pirateplayer”, line 10, in
sys.exit(main())
File “/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/pirateplayer/main.py”, line 20, in main
pins = confparse.get_pins()
File “/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/pirateplayer/utils/confparse.py”, line 24, in get_pins
return list(_CONF[‘BUTTON’].getint(btn) for btn in _CONF[‘BUTTON’])
File “/usr/lib/python3.7/configparser.py”, line 958, in getitem
raise KeyError(key)
KeyError: ‘BUTTON’

i dunno what i’m doing wrong, like i said i’m a totally noob, maybe someone can help me
i wanted to create a mp3 player that i can use offline not with mopidy which i’ve allready tried

best regards Ghurkki

Haven’t used it, but looking at the source code it is trying to read the config file.
In /home/pi/.config/pirateplayer there should be a file called conf.ini that contains

[PLAYER]
root = ~/Music

[BUTTON]
a = 5
b = 6
x = 16
y = 20

If that file does not exist (it should have been created by the installer) you need to create it.
Don’t know if that helps.

If you have a look at the buttons.py example y is gpio 24, not 20. I think there may have been a hardware change at some point? In any case you may want to see what pin yours uses and make sure your config file matches.

thanks for all reply i managed to use the pirateplayer now, but now i try to make an autostart for this application and i fail again i dunno how to do it

What type of file are you trying to autostart? I use crontab to start my python files on boot up.

Check to see if there is a file /home/pi/.config/systemd/user/pirateplayer.service
(this should have been created if you ran the install.sh script).
If not, create the file (and directories if needed) and put the following in it