Plasma 2040 Button & Code Assistance

Hi, apologies if this is very basic. I’ve looked everywhere, and I can’t see to find (or perhaps understand) the answer on my own.

I recently picked up a Plasma 2040 to learn with. I have my micropython code working with the buttons on the board, along with some LEDs (woohoo)! However, I’d like to attach separate buttons, and I’m having issues.

Physical Connection Question:
I have two Adafruit Metal Pushbutton – 16 mm 6V RGV Momentary that I want to connect. How do I connect these? This is my first project and I’m a bit lost. From what I gather from the datasheet I should be connecting the C+ to power, and one of the non-RGB legs to my data pins? Reading the Plasma datasheet I thought that this might work: SWC and SWD for my data pins, and 5V and 3V3 for my power pins? I don’t need RGB at this time.

Is this how they should be connected? Apologies again, I have no idea how to read these datasheets and my search for answer to these questions didn’t result in much.

Coding Question:

My current code is as follows:

from plasma import plasma2040
from pimoroni import RGBLED, Button

button_a = Button(plasma2040.BUTTON_A)
button_b = Button(plasma2040.BUTTON_B)

…etc…

if button_a.read():

…etc…

I tried looking for the equivalent of the “BUTTON_A” or “BUTTON_B” for SWC and SWD, but I can’t seem to find it. Alternatively, I tried finding what GPIO pins they were, but I don’t understand the schematic.

Can someone let me know the best way to add this to my code?

Thanks for the assistance, and for your time. I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful day!

Hi!

I’ve been working with the plasma 2040 and buttons for some time now. There are a few ways to do it, but the easiest is this:

with that, you can attach up to 14 buttons. You have to solder it to the plasma 2040, and then you can attach the buttons to the IOs (there are 14) and the GND. From there, you can read button presses very easily.

1 Like