PMS5003 -- how to use?

I got my hands on one of these PMS5003 air quality devices that many people seem to be using a lot these days in projects.

I have a Raspberry Pi and a Pi Zero (also an Arduino Uno). I have a bunch of wires (and a breadboard and resistors etc). Also soldering kit. But I’m very unsure how to connect the PMS5003 to my devices. I’m worried that I’ll send power where it shouldn’t go and damage the device.

This is my first time doing an electronics project of this kind. Not really sure where to start. It seems there are a bunch of Python repositories on Github that will make interacting with the sensor not too difficult to manage, but how to get the connection to the device in the first place?

Any advice anyone might have would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

You need the pinout for that connector in the picture, for one thing. Or, maybe you have to open it up and harvest the bits you need to wire it up to a Pi? Do you have any links to where somebody else used it?

I’m pretty sure you already know this, but just in case. The Pi’s uses 3V logic level signals. They are not 5V logic tolerant. If you send 5v where it wants 3.3v bad things will happen, you will damage your Pi. There are logic level converters / shifters if the need arises.

Only just noticed your “many people” link. It looks like its 3.3v so it should be safe to use on a Pi. I think I’d use a Pi Zero for first time setup. If you make a mistake your only out ~ 10 bucks, instead of 35 or more. The link you posted shows how to wire it up. Just take your time.
One way to do it would be to solder tack some jumper wires to the connector. Then plug the other end into a solderless bread board. Male to male jumpers would work too.

Male to female jumpers would also work. Plug the male end onto the Pi’s GPIO pins. Then solder tack the male pins to the connector on the unit.

1 Like