Servo2040 connectivity

Hello, I will start out by saying I’m new to python and micro python so please forgive me if I use the wrong phrases.

I’m building a robot based on the poppy humanoid robot. As I could not afford the servos they used, I went for a suite of 30KG SPT motors and re-designed the joints around them. This part is done and the body is looking OK.

The part that I’m sticking on is the servo control. I started out by using a 2040 Pico connected to 2* PCA9685 boards as there are 26 motors in this robot, but found the action lumpy when trying to get easing to work. As a result I have bought 2* 18 channel Servo2040 boards that I want to connect back to the Raspberry pi in the robot head.

With the Pico solution, I had the Pico’s in the head and used I2C to the PCA9685’s and USB to the Pico from the Raspberry Pi so I could use Thonny to continue program the actions when I got to that stage. This in testing worked well but took up space in the head which I need for other boards and sensors.

To add another thing in the mix there is an IMU in the body connected to the Pico using the I2C bus as I wanted the Pico to control the balance without waiting for feedback from the Raspberry Pi.

Now with that out of the way this is the question:

Is there a way of getting these two Servo 2040 boards to connect back to the Raspberry pi so I only need one cable back to the head (4 cores would be getting to the limit. I have considered a USB connection to a small hub in the body but this would require a redesign somewhere in the body to accommodate it).

I have several limitations with the head cabling, restricted movement and also the amount of cable I can feed through the frame of the robot and the aperture in the back of the head.

I understand there is a way of getting the 2040 to act as a slave for I2C using circuit python, but you are limited as to the number of servos you can run on the board (I believe 12 hence I’m using micro python)