Set-up of Keybow 2040

Noob here. I just bought keybow 2040, and I can’t get it to work. I’ve followed the steps on this tutorial a couple times (CircuitPython and Keybow 2040), but it doesn’t work. Please help!

I’m sure people would be willing to help but we’re going to need a bit more details of what is happening, how it isn’t working.

For example, these are areas I could see from that page:

• getting CircuitPython setup and the lib folder
  • the Keybow 2040 library setup
  • runnning the example.

Or something about the physical keys or LEDs not working as expected that might suggest a faulty device which you would be better contacting Pimoroni support about.

If you see any error message at any point, that would be useful to include here too. Then people can try and help with something specific either about CircuitPython or if they have a Keybow 2040 as well.

I was looking at the Keybow, I wouldn’t need the 4x4 keys but like the 3 key version but not that it uses a Raspberry Pi Zero, it seems overkill to run a Linux OS for 3 keys :). Maybe they will eventually make a Keybow 2040 kit with 3 keys.

Good luck getting this working.

So with the drivers installed, it doesn’t look like my PC is reading as a mass storage device.

I have the rainbow.py example code in the code.py file.

Here’s the example code sitting in code.py.

`# SPDX-FileCopyrightText: 2021 Sandy Macdonald

SPDX-License-Identifier: MIT

This example displays a rainbow animation on Keybow 2040’s keys.

Drop the keybow2040.py file and keybow_hardware folder

into your lib folder on your CIRCUITPY drive.

import math
from keybow2040 import Keybow2040, number_to_xy, hsv_to_rgb
from keybow_hardware.pim56x import PIM56X as Hardware # for Keybow 2040
#from keybow_hardware.pim551 import PIM551 as Hardware # for Pico RGB Keypad Base

Set up Keybow

keybow = Keybow2040(Hardware())
keys = keybow.keys

Increment step to shift animation across keys.

step = 0

while True: