Arduino vs Pi

I am new to electronics and would like to know.

What should I start out with???

arf, I ran out of popcorn!

More seriously, they are very different beasts and are good at different things. So it all depends on what projects you are likely to want to get your teeth into.

What Arduino is unarguably best at is real-time applications. It will also out of the box provide analog channels and multiple PWM channels.

The Raspberry Pi on the other hand runs a full OS and the sky is the limit so to speak, when it comes to solutions to a problem.

My advice is to experiment with both if you are interested enough to learn how they compare, their strength and weaknesses… both are quite fascinating in their own right!

My road to electronics was through the Pi. The Arduino always interested me, but the whole thing never really clicked until I played with a Pi and then the maker in me who’d been trained on LEGO Mindstorms, building PCs and disassembling anything he could get his hands on exploded out like a Phoenix from the flames… fortunately not the flames of a Pi I’d managed to blow up because I didn’t blow any Pi’s up until much later. I feel I’m just waffling now but I have a new keyboard and I’m enjoying typing on it.

Hi!

Also, Arduino and Pi work extremely well together since they both have their own strengths and weaknesses, as @RogueM mentions. The Arduino is a good “do one thing and do it well for 100 years” platform which fires up immediately and works like a soldier, while the Pi is a very flexible “explore all the things” platform where you can tinker with much more approachable languages like Python, BASIC, build your own webserver and a dozen much less technical things you can (retro gaming, media center) do if you get frustrated with trying to learn (we all need to unwind sometimes!).

I give this talk every now and then at my Makerspace.

I start off with a demo, my Arduino is connected to an LED matrix, my Raspberry Pi to a scroll pHAT.