First time using input on Automation Phat

Hello,

I have used the relay on the Automation Phats quite a bit. This is my first attempt at using the inputs.

I am trying to connect the output of a piece of equipment to my Automation PHat/Raspberry Pi Zero so I can tell when the output is triggered. I have the board configured, and the relay working. I am including a photo shat shows the info from the manual about the control. Any suggestions about how to go about this?

What input would the experts recommend I use? Do I need to connect some voltage in the equation? How should I wire it up?

Many thanks in advance.
David

The key takeaway from the details you’ve posted is:

“The output acts like a switch to ground.”

IE: This means that the output has no HIGH state by default, and if you wish to read this output using a digital input it requires you to supply some way of making your signal HIGH.

Normally devices like the Pi have a simple way of dealing with this- onboard “pull” resistors. A pull resistor is a very high value resistor (typically 10k+ on a digital IO) that can connect the input pin either to +VCC or GND. This gives that pin a “known” state, by gently pulling it one way or another.

A digital input that isn’t pulled, and isn’t driven to a particular voltage by an external device, will have an unknown and unpredictable state, we call this “floating.”

Automation HAT has a protective buffer in front of the inputs, which thwarts the pull resistors built-in to the Pi. You’ll need to add one yourself.

This might sound complicated, but all you have to do is pick a suitable resistor- try 10k for starters- and connect it between the +5V connection on Automation HAT and the input you wish to use. This will turn that input on by pulling it HIGH, giving you a known ON state.