InkyPhat - how to wrap text - help needed

Hi there, I’m new to this, probably this is a beginner level thing, but I can’t do it alone. I love InkyPhat display, but I need some help in printing longer texts in it.

Of course,

import sys
from PIL import ImageFont
import inkyphat
font = ImageFont.truetype(inkyphat.fonts.FredokaOne, 16)
name = "text example"
w, h = font.getsize(name)
x = (inkyphat.WIDTH / 2) - (w / 2)
y = (inkyphat.HEIGHT / 2) - (h / 2)
inkyphat.text((x, y), name, inkyphat.BLACK, font)
inkyphat.show()

will print a perfectly centred single black line text on the InkyPhat display, but limited to this single line and the display width, longer texts will be truncated.

Starting from above, I need to know if there’s a possibility to print longer texts in several lines, somehow auto-adjusted (warped) to the display size, eventually dynamically centred (keeping all the possibilities from a single centred line to several centred lines when the text is large than a single line).

Thank you,
Alex

Since Inky pHAT just uses PIL/Pillow you should be able to use the multiline_text method: http://pillow.readthedocs.io/en/3.3.x/reference/ImageDraw.html?highlight=multiline_text#PIL.ImageDraw.PIL.ImageDraw.Draw.multiline_text

However this method is not yet exposed for Inky pHAT (I’ll have to make a note to do that in the next release) so you will, if I’m not talking nonsense, need to do:

inkyphat._draw.multiline_text(args ...)
1 Like

Hi Phil,
Thank you for your time and quick answer. As far as I understand (my knowledge is minimal in this area) I have to wait for an updated Inky pHAT software release to be able to use multiline_text, is that right?

A code like this will get an attribute error: “ImageDraw instance has no attribute ‘multiline_text’”

from PIL import ImageDraw
import inkyphat
name = "text example too big to fit a single line on InkyPhat"
w, h = font.getsize(name)
inkyphat._draw.multiline_text((x, y), name, inkyphat.BLACK, font)
inkyphat.show()