No Blinky Blinky- Pi Zero W & Unicorn PHAT

Hey community. Bit of a rPi configuration noob here.

My goal- Using a rPi Zero W and a Unicorn PHAT I want get the LEDs to light up. Then use it to indicate when I am in meeting etc at home.

Hardware: As above with Pogo pins to connect 5v, ground and data (GPIO 18) between the Pi and the Unicorn PHAT.

Software: Raspbian OS Lite installed on an 8 GB micro SD card. I have then followed the guide here https://github.com/carolinedunn/unicorn-busy-server and even followed the pimoroni guide on https://github.com/pimoroni/unicorn-hat. However I did get ‘command not found’ when running sudo idle or sudo idle3.

Either way I am not able to get the LEDs to light up. In the 1st method I should be able to use http get command to make calls to the pi to turn the unicorn pi hat a certain colour and in the 2nd method there are example python scripts to run LED sequences. Neither work. I’ve run the detect.py but I’m not completely understanding the output.

*Unicorn HAT Detect-o-matic v2.0

Note: Your Unicorn HAT must be plugged in before boot to detect properly!

We couldn’t find a connected EEPROM, so we’ll assume you’re using a Unicorn pHAT.

You should use the following in your code:

import unicornhat
unicornhat.set_layout(unicornhat.PHAT)

If you’re sure you’ve connected a HAT, use:

import unicornhat
unicornhat.set_layout(unicornhat.HAT)

A pip freeze | grep unicornhat command reads back

unicornhat==2.2.3

So I know a the module is installed. But I’m really lost on this one. Can anyone help at all?

Thanks in advance.

You mention that the pHAT eeprom is not detected - it lives on pins 27 & 28 see pinout…

You will need pogo pins on those pins and possibly more ground pins.
Perhaps there’s someone more familiar with this pHAT can help further.