PhatBeat + IR Receiver - Extending Pirate Radio

Hi all,

Hoping I can get a bit of help.

I’ve just gone a bit nuts buying Raspberry Pi’s to put together a number of projects over the next few months - also to learn Python as I mostly use JavaScript/Ruby/C/Swift for my job and want to get in on some Machine Learning goodness eventually.

One of the kits I bought is the Pirate Radio kit with the intention of building my 2.5 year old son a bedtime audio book device.

I work as a software developer so am confident of my coding chops but I know next to nothing about hardware. One of the ideas I’ve got for modifying the Pirate Radio kit is connecting an IR receiver to the Zero W along with the PhatBeat and using a little remote I have lying around to give the radio some extended functionality - current thoughts are:

1. Mode switching via remote so I can switch it between being an AirPlay speaker, an internet radio and an AudioBook player.
  2. Adding a button via the remote to give it a timed fade out so it gradually gets quieter.
  3. More general commands like play/pause/fast-forward via remote.

So my core question is this:

Given I know next to nothing about hardware - does anyone have any idea how (or even IF) I could attach an IR Receiver to the Zero W whilst the PhatBeat hat is attached? i.e. given the PhatBeat will cover all the GPIO pins could I just solder the IR receiver onto the correct GPIO pins underneath the board or is that going to cause me issues?

If the IR receiver is a no go I could probably write a little iOS app to allow control via the Bluetooth module but I kind of want to get the remote working :)

Thanks for the help - if I get this working I’ll open source the code! :)

Welcome to the forum!

There’s this:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XHGJG7Q/ref=psdc_3230976011_t2_B07J2PWNWF