Specifications / instructions for writing my own i2c interface to a pHAT BEAT?

Hi everyone,

I’m working on a home hub (wake-up alarms, controlling smart home devices, etc) and for various reasons I’m using a non-standard OS on a Raspberry Pi Zero W. This is a big learning exercise for me, so I’m not necessarily interested in just using more popular tools. I’m trying to learn embedded programming, circuit design and all the related skills I’ll need. Warning: I’m brand new to a lot of this (though with plenty of programming knowledge and some basic electronics) so I apologise if I’m using incorrect phrasing or getting mixed up. If you think my approach is wrong I would gladly appreciate pointers.

I’m using https://nerves-project.org/ — the Elixir programming language running on a cut-down embedded linux + VM (built with https://buildroot.org/). That’s one of the only fixed parts of the system, I want more experience with this tech so I don’t want to switch to another OS and use Python.

I also have a pHAT BEAT from the excellent hosts of this forum, and I would love to get that hooked up. My problem is this: my current linux installation isn’t setup to route audio over the GPIO pins and the Pimoroni setup script doesn’t support my OS. I’ve been trying to understand the setup script a bit more, but I suspect I need to mess around at a slightly lower level first.
I could theoretically switch to a Pi 3 and use the audio-jack, but then I would have to use something other than the pHAT BEAT which would be a shame.

So: what’s the best way for me to get started with manually interfacing with the DAC from my system? I haven’t been able to find any documentation beyond the pinout diagram. I’m probably not looking in the right places or for the right terms? I can see that communication is done with I2C but not much beyond that.

Thank you for any help, specific or general.