Stuck at the start

Complete newby and incompetent here! I’m building the Nature Watch camera and following the instructions from the Nature Watch website. These instructions say to edit the naturewatch-configuration.txt file. This file does not appear to be on the sd card supplied by Pimoroni. Is it just a case of downloading the sd card image? Or is this configuration file actually there but hidden somehow, or do I just create it? Thanks in advance for any help given.

You will need to download and write the SD card image I believe. See the “Download the software” section on this page: https://mynaturewatch.net/daylight-camera-instructions

If your’e a Windows user, be careful not to edit the naturewatch-configuration.txt file in Notepad- it’ll ruin the formatting.

Grab something like Notepad++ or I believe Wordpad works: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

Thanks crew. I’m in the process of etching the sd card now.

Hi!

Good news is I’ve etched the SD card, put it all together, switched it on and get a green light on the Pi and a red light on the camera. The Wifi shows on my phone.

Bad news is I’m simply unable to connect tot he Wifi. The naturewatch-config file is untouched. Any ideas?

Thank you
Dave

That’s odd, had any luck since?

What device are you using to connect to the WiFi?

I think it must have been overheating. Either that or a bum Pi. I put a bigger geat sink in and that seemed to help at first, but then it has failed again. Bought a new Pi and camera and planning on rebuilding it soon.

My comments:

First, I’d not be surprised about the overheating. I think they could improve their instructions about super-glue and a steel bolt for a heat sink. super glue will somewhat block the heat from escaping from the rPi Zero chip, and steel isn’t as good as aluminum (or copper) for conducting heat away.

Have you connected (by ssh to the rPi Zero to monitor the temperature? There’s a command that can be run from the $ command prompt